Events

View all upcoming and past events held at Diamond Mountain Retreat Center. Have a question or need support in your life or practice? Check out the Karmaline. 

Loading Events
07
August
Saturday

“Stupas in Time and Space” by Hanlie and Sunam

August 7 @ 6:00 am - 7:00 am MST
  • This event has passed.

“Stupas in Time and Space” by Hanlie and Sunam

Have you ever been curious about stupas?

A long time ago, great teachers were cremated, but sometimes they were buried in a seated, meditative position with a mound of earth covering them up. Thus, the domed shape of the stupa came to represent a person seated in meditation much as the Buddha was when he achieved Enlightenment. Legend has it that about 250 years after the Buddha’s death, King Ashoka was responsible for building many stupas all over northern India and the other territories under the Mauryan Dynasty in areas now known as Nepal, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan. Over time different types of stupas emerged.

This talk is about how stupas have changed over time and specifically stupas in our Tibetan lineage. Join us to learn everything you need to know about the Medicine Buddha stupas that will be built at Diamond Mountain!

Where:   Live stream  https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85722326669
When: Saturday, August 7, 6 am Arizona, 3 pm Berlin, 4 pm Moscow, 9 pm Singapore
Tickets: free

Details
Date: August 7
Time: 6:00 am - 7:00 am
Event CategoryEvents
Venue
Venue Name: Online Zoom
Address: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85722326669
Organizer